Excited! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Ilse Jonker - WaarBenJij.nu Excited! - Reisverslag uit Londen, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Ilse Jonker - WaarBenJij.nu

Excited!

Door: Ilse Jonker

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Ilse

21 September 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Londen

Hi everybody!

Sorry to have kept you waiting two weeks before another blog, but yeah London's got so much to offer :)

The last two weeks were nice and easy, no classes just an EU introduction and faculty induction that were mandatory. The rest of the last to weeks consisted of activities organised by the Students Union and exploring London by myself.

The EU intro was so much fun, we had to play monopoly by making pictures of ourself at places in the city. For example:
- Go to Trafalgar square and take a team photo with the big lion
- Team photo with a giant M&M
- Team photo with a Policemen
We did not do all the photos but had a good time walking around in London.
Most of the exchange/erasmus students live in the same hall and block as me, good times :)

The faculty induction was mainly used for sorting out our timetables. The exams of the modules you take are on the same day as the lectures for that module. This mean that modules that have lectures on Monday will have an exam on Monday in the exam week. So we were advised by our course director to pick modules that are not lectured on the same day, just to be sure the exam times will not overlap.
My 1st and 3rd choice modules are both on Thursday, which meant I had to choose and look for another module because I have to do 30ECT's. Unfortunately the lectures of my 4th, 5th and 6th choice modules are also on Thursday or Friday (when the lecture of my 2nd choice module is). So I had to start looking for another module I could do and I decided on Business Communication. This lecture is given multiple times a week so I should be able to find a free seat in one of the lectures taking place on Monday (4 lectures), Tuesday (2 lectures) or Wednesday (4 lectures).

So my lectures will start tomorrow! I'm so excited, can't wait to get started!

So now you know what I did on two of the last fourteen days :) I have had nice walks on both banks of the river Thames, through the city centre and got lost when I was going on a run. Luckily I got lost on my way to run in St. James park and there are all these little maps around London (God bless London for those things) and I quickly found my way again. And I wasn't really lost either, I still knew the way back, I just lost the way to the park. So I found the park, had a nice run and saw squirrels (I've never seen wild squirrels before so that's a first).
Besides just walking I have also been to the British Museum and the Tate Modern with some of my flatmates. Tate Modern looks very big from the outside but when you are only going to see the permanent exhibitions (yes those are for free, but please leave something to support the museum) you will be done in one day. The same can not be said about the British Museum. I have only seen the ground floor exhibitions about Egypt, Asia and the Greek/Roman era.

Of course we also did other things than just being cultural, I've signed up for the sports centre. We went to a German pub to see some German teams play in the Champions League. Why the German teams you might wonder. Well, most of the exchange students that live here this semester are from Germany :)

The students Union also organised all kinds of things, I went on a tour though Camden. It was hosted by Unseen tours and our guide was called Mike. If you ever get the change to go somewhere on an Unseen tour I would certainly recommend it, the people that will guide you are/were homeless in that area and know so much and they can also show you some hidden gems. We took a campus tour, went to band-eoke, beerpong and the freshers fair.

And we went clubbing, last week to KOKO in Camden. I liked that club al lot, make sure you arrive on time, because the entry fee will get higher the later it gets. You might have to endure the music until it is about 2 o'clock but the DJ's that take the stage at that point are good. Last Thursday there was a big freshers party in Pacha (apparently a pretty big name in the London scene), this party was not as good however. The music was pretty much the same the whole night. We also went to a pub called Dover, a nice pub, but when you want to dance you will have to hit the clubs. Besides the dancing most pubs only have licences to be open until 23.00. Most clubs close around 04.00.

That's about it for the last two weeks. If there is any one wondering if I can receive mail here, I can! This is my address (make sure you do not forget the block letters though)

Ilse Jonker
H127 McLaren
1, St George's Circus
London SE1 OAP
United Kingdom

Love,
Ilse

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Ilse

Voor iedereen die het leuk vindt om over mijn beslommeringen te lezen :)

Actief sinds 20 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1225
Totaal aantal bezoekers 2395

Voorgaande reizen:

05 September 2014 - 23 Januari 2015

Studying in London

05 September 2014 - 23 Januari 2015

Studying at London South Bank

Landen bezocht: